The University of Waikato, Tauranga

The University of Waikato in Tauranga currently shares Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology's Windermere and Bongard Centre campuses. The two institutions work closely to offer a comprehensive suite of jointly developed diploma and degree programmes. Some qualifications begin with completing a Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology programme, which can be credited towards a Waikato degree, and other qualifications are offered in their entirety through the University of Waikato in Tauranga.

Students are able to complete the following qualifications in Tauranga:

  • Bachelor of Business Analysis (Financial)
  • Bachelor of Management Studies
  • Bachelor of Science (Biological Sciences)
  • Bachelor of Science (Computer Science with a specialisation in Applied Computing)
  • Bachelor of Social Sciences
  • Bachelor of Social Work
  • Bachelor of Teaching (Early Childhood)
  • Bachelor of Teaching (Primary)
  • Diploma in Law
  • Graduate Diploma of Teaching (Secondary)
  • Graduate Diploma in Accounting
  • Graduate Diploma in Finance
  • Graduate Diploma in Marketing
  • Graduate Diploma in Psychology
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Management Studies
  • Master of Education
  • Master of Educational Leadership
  • Master of Sport, Health and Human Performance
  • PhD (Biological Science, Psychology, and Education

Students can start the following qualifications in Tauranga by following specific programme pathways, but these qualifications must be completed in Hamilton:

  • Bachelor of Laws
  • Bachelor of Engineering (Honours)

To start the Bachelor of Laws in Tauranga, students must complete the Diploma in Law and some non-law electives, and then complete the remaining two years of study in Hamilton.

To start the Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) degree in Tauranga, students must complete the New Zealand Diploma in Engineering in a specified specialisation with Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology in Tauranga and then complete the rest of the degree in Hamilton.

The Master of Information Technology has taught classes in Hamilton, but the internship can be completed in Tauranga.

Papers are taught by University of Waikato and Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology academic staff, or by video conference link from the Hamilton campus. Students are also able to enrol in online papers. Some students complete their degrees entirely in Tauranga and some transfer or commute to Hamilton if they want to enrol in papers not available on the Tauranga campus.

Further information about programmes and papers offered in Tauranga is available on the University of Waikato, Tauranga website:

By 2020, students in Tauranga will be able to study at the new Tauranga CBD campus that the University of Waikato is developing on behalf of the Bay of Plenty Tertiary Education Partnership. Its development is being supported and funded by the community, and will offer a range of University programmes focused in areas of regional activity.

Further information is available at

This page has been reformatted for printing.