Regulations for the Degree of Master of Laws in Māori/Pacific and Indigenous Peoples’ Law (LLM(Māori/Pacific and Indigenous Peoples))

1.   The Personal Programmes of Study Regulations apply in these regulations.
2.   Candidates for the Degree must have
  (a)    qualified for the award of the degree of Bachelor of Laws or a combined Law degree of the University of Waikato with at least a B grade average across the 300 and 400 level papers, or for a qualification considered by the Academic Board to be equivalent, and
  (b)    satisfied the prerequisites for graduate study in the subject(s) being presented for the Degree, at levels considered appropriate by the Academic Board.
3.   In exceptional circumstances, based on academic merit and relevant experience, candidates who do not meet the requirements of section 2 of these regulations may be considered for admission subject to the completion of any qualifying papers the Academic Board may prescribe which must be completed either prior to or concurrently.
Requirements for the Degree
4.   The normal minimum period of enrolment for completion of the Degree is one year. The requirements of the Degree must be completed within four consecutive years of first enrolling for the Degree.
5.   Candidates must enrol in the Faculty of Law and follow an approved programme of study.
6.   Candidates must gain 120 points at 500 level or above.
7.   Candidates must complete the papers prescribed for the Degree in the Law entry in the University of Waikato Catalogue of Papers, including any compulsory papers.
8.   Candidates may include
  (a)    a dissertation equivalent to 30 points, or
  (b)    a dissertation equivalent to 60 points, or
  (c)    a thesis equivalent to 90 points, or
  (d)    a thesis equivalent to 120 points.
9.   Candidates may take up to 30 points from outside the field of the Degree.
10.   The field of the Degree comprises the papers prescribed for the Degree in the Law entry in the University of Waikato Catalogue of Papers.
11.   If a candidate fails a paper or papers (worth not more than 30 points in total), he or she may repeat the paper or papers or take an alternative paper or papers with the same total points value on one occasion only. A candidate who fails a paper or papers worth more than 30 points in total will not be permitted to proceed with the Degree.
Examination of thesis (90 points and above)
12.   The University will appoint two examiners for the candidate's thesis; one examiner external to the University and active in the research field of the thesis; and one examiner internal to the University, with a good grounding in the research field, who is not directly connected to the candidate, or the candidate’s thesis research or supervision.
Award of Honours
13.   The Degree may be awarded with
  (a)    First Class Honours, or
  (b)    Second Class Honours (first division), or
  (c)    Second Class Honours (second division),
  or without honours.
14.   Candidates who fail a paper will not be eligible for the award of honours.
15.   Except with the approval of the Academic Board, the level of honours will be calculated on the basis of the grades of the first 120 points completed by the candidate while enrolled for the Degree.
16.   In order to be eligible for consideration for the award of honours, the requirements of the Degree must be completed in not more than 12 consecutive months of full-time study, or, in the case of part-time study, an equivalent period not exceeding two calendar years, from the date of first enrolment in the Degree.
17.   The Dean or delegated authority may vary or waive these regulations in individual cases.

This page has been reformatted for printing.